Ten years ago, I left a secure job for…a new life. I had been stuck in DC and in my head, bound by a series of heartbreaking entanglement and imprisonment of fantasies. I had to leave as not to regret that I never left DC and stayed because of ‘comfort.’

I remember the day that I was leaving for the airport, taking a final look at the beloved little studio where I lived, I suddenly realized that I had NO keys. No apartment or house keys. No mailbox keys. No car keys. No office keys. No safety deposit keys. No keys. It was truly amazing, thinking that with a credit card and one suitcase, I could go anywhere in the world. I had put everything that I owned in storage, and with a one-way ticket, I began my Great Adventure – complete with water splashing kiddy pools, lines, disappointing shows, rollercoasters, too-sweet-giant lollipops and a cast of characters – but all for amusement. In a self-created sabbatical and then another one-way ticket, from DC, to Europe, and then to the West Coast – I went.

While in Europe, my daily routine was, looking to see where I’d like to go next. My only limitations were which Airbnb’s were available and appealed to me. It could have been Italy, or Scotland, anywhere. I loved eating kabab donner sandwiches in Berlin and living in an artist’s loft with real working artists.

I landed in Berlin, and then went on to London, Paris, Reykjavik, Prague, Helsinki. Then Seattle, Palo Alto, and San Francisco. Little did I know, how prosperous the next 10 years would be. How WRONG had I been about so many things, and how extremely blessed I would be about so many other things.

Ten years later, I return to this Blog, which I started around 2008. To be a blogger back then was something ‘cute.’ To be a vlogger these days is something really exciting…to me.

This year, I will take another sabbatical, and this time, I will know how to do things better. With more responsibilities now for family and others, I am a decade older, but the love for media has not subsided. This time, I will make it a point to listen to my Left Brain, while letting it take some control of the conducting.

Blogging has led me to meet a World Class perfumer in Paris. Blogging has also paved the way for me in 2022 – VLOGGING ALL THE WAY – HERE WE COME! Oh, that and Metaverse.