IMG_3548

It seems to me like I get a lot of free gifts, but now I have proof.

A free $5 bill on the street

unnamed

A free Canon printer/fax

Free keyboards

Free computer mice

A free candy cane

A sizable refund from Geico Car Insurance

A free night of hotel

A free shuttle ride to the airport

Free ice cream

Free meals

Free movies, free comedy shows

Free box of ripe strawberries weighing over 2 pounds

Free jar of flowers

Free eggs

photo-2

Free coffee, free snacks, free lunches…free, free, free

unnamed-1 unnamed-2

Plus…all the people who make the mistake of undercharging me…like the young man who forgot to charge me for the expensive ceramic plant bowl and the lavender plant…

Today, I got a free gift from Amazon…it says

A gift from Jennie Johnson.  Enjoy your gift. 

Except, I don’t know who Jennie Johnson is.

I love this gift.

IMG_3549

(I’m going to call Amazon tomorrow.  I bet they’ll say, “Oh sorry, it’s our packing mistake…but you can keep the gift”).

The gift is a Philips Dawn Simulator…a gentle alarm clock that simulates the moon at night and the sun in the morning.  So figuratively I’ve gotten the sun and moon for free, brought closer to 2-3 inches the head of the bed.

What wonderful KARMA.

But the biggest gift for 2014 goes to an uneventful and remarkable diagnosis for a loved one in the family.

I am so grateful.  For Palo Alto, this blessed place that I call Heaven on Earth for a transient time.

unnamed