first_row_orchestra_by_edward_hopper

One of my favorite things to do in Washington DC is to take a short run on the Mall, then pick a museum on a whim to look at some specific sections of the museum.  Yesterd my run ended in the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, at the Panza Collection, and Edward Hopper’s Front Row Orchestra.

The Panza Collection refers to a collection of modern American and European installation pieces that Giuseppe Panza di Biumo and his wife collected.

Thirty years ago someone close to me once said that “poetry is for people who can’t write prose.” To be blunt but honest, I’ve always thought that modern art as for people who can’t create classic art.  But after seeing the Panza Collection, I’m more swayed that modern art definitely has its own challenges and ecstasy.

image_4_314